We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Bone Sparrow – Author Videos

Zana Fraillon, author of the award-winning book The Bone Sparrow, talks about the book, the themes explored in the text and the context of the book in 2020.

 

About The Bone Sparrow

Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, The Bone Sparrow is a deeply moving story about a refugee boy, Subhi who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre and the friendship he develops with the girl he meets on the other side of the fence.

 

Below are five subtitled videos from Zana to share with your KS2 and KS3 classes or parents looking for visual teaching resources on topics concerning refugees, detention centres and the importance of all voices being heard.

 

Zana Fraillon & her writing space

 

About The Bone Sparrow

 

The Bone Sparrow’s Themes

 

Why we need to read books like The Bone Sparrow

 

The Bone Sparrow in 2020

 

If you also want to look at more detailed teaching resources for The Bone Sparrow, you can find these here.