More

National Poetry Day

National Poetry Day

3rd October is National Poetry Day, a great opportunity to encourage young readers to discover, enjoy and share poetry.

We have two beautifully-written and accessible poetry books, both make great entry points for anyone who thinks poetry ‘isn’t for them’!

Poems from a Green and Blue Planet edited by Sabrina Mahfouz

Dive into this book and be swept away on a journey around our green and blue planet, from the peak of the snowiest mountaintop to the bottom of the deepest, bluest ocean.

A stunning and joyous collection of new and classic poems from around the world celebrating the diversity of life in all corners of our beautiful planet. Perfect for reading aloud, or sharing as a starter for project work on the environment.

Download a sample from Poems From a Green and Blue Planet here.

Find out more about Poems From a Green and Blue Planet here.

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

The Black Flamingo is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK’s most exciting poets. The book follows Michael, a mixed race gay teen as he explores his identity and sexuality, then at University he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo.

Perfect for fans of Poet X and Sarah Crossan, this is a bold and joyous celebration of showing your true colours.

Watch a video of Dean performing a poem as The Black Flamingo here:

Download a sample from The Black Flamingo here.

The Black Flamingo is one of the official YA recommendations for National Poetry Day!

Share this