More

Refugee Week 2018

Refugee Week takes place every year across the world in the week around World Refugee Day on the 20 June. In the UK, Refugee Week is a nationwide programme of arts, cultural and educational events that celebrate the contribution of refugees to the UK, and encourages a better understanding between communities.

This year marks 20 years of Refugee Week, which will run from 18th –  24th June. Below we have a selection of titles across age ranges if your class want to explore and understand why people seek sanctuary.

The Children of Willesden Lane –  Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen

The inspirational story of Lisa Jura’s escape from Nazi-controlled Austria to England on the famed Kindertransport

Based on a true story of a 14 year old girl Lisa Jura, who had to flee her home in Vienna and rebuild her life in London, the story brings home the reality of the Holocaust to readers aged 12 and up.

9781445161303 PB £7.99. Find out more

Download free reading notes for The Children of Willesden Lane

Children in Our World: Refugees and Migrants

A beautifully illustrated picture book that sensitively explains larger issues and crises that dominate the news in an appropriate manner for children.

The Children in Our World picture book series helps children make  sense of the larger issues and crises that dominate the news in  a sensitive and appropriate manner.  With relatable comparisons, carefully  researched text and striking illustrations, children can begin to  understand who refugees and migrants are, why they’ve left their homes, where they live and what readers can do to help those in need.

For children aged 5-7 years.

9781526300218 PB £8.99 Find out more

 

Who Are Refugees and Migrants – Michael Rosen & Annemarie Young 

 

A highly topical look at the current refugee crisis, encouraging readers to think for themselves about the issues involved.

Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards, the book encourages readers to think for themselves about the issues involved. There is also a role-play activity asking readers to imagine themselves in the situation of having to decide whether to leave their homes and seek refuge in a new country.

9780750299855 HB £13.99 Find out more

Bone Sparrow – Zana Fraillon
Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who’s ever struggled to find a safe home.
Endorsed by Am International, this is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre, for children aged 12+.

9781510101555 PB £6.99 Find out more

 

The Boy at the Back of the Class – Onjali Q. Rauf

Told with heart and humour, The Boy at the Back of the Class is a child’s perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn’t always make sense.

Beautifully written and highly accessible, this book is both moving and funny and perfect for primary aged children 9+.

9781510105010 PB £6.99 Find out more

Illegal – Eoin Colfer & Andrew Donkins

This is a powerful and timely story about one boy’s epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children’s Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.

‘Beautifully realised and punchily told.’ Alex O’Connell, The Times Children’s Book of the Week
‘A powerful, compelling work, evocatively illustrated … It would take a hard heart not to be moved by this book.’ Financial Times

9781444934007 HB £14.99 Find out more
Far From Home: Refugees and migrants fleeing war, persecution and poverty – Cath Senker

Designed to be accessible to both children and adults, this book is an open and balanced tool for opening discussions around these sensitive issues.

For children aged 11+.

Author Cath Senker is an expert on writing in this area. She has housed refugees in her own home and is active in helping to provide education to those arriving in Britain.

9781445155203 HB £13.99 Find out more

 

Find out more at: