More

What’s new for October?

Don’t miss our brand new titles for Early Years

 Spider!

A warm, funny look at spiders, by award-winning actress and national treasure Alison Steadman OBE. This lovely picture book is perfect for helping children who are scared of spiders, and has a heartwarming underlying message about friendship and acceptance.

Out 5th October. £12.99, HB.

 

A is for Art

This unique book is packed to bursting with the world’s greatest paintings and the stories behind them. See the sights of the National Gallery as never before, on an inspiring tour of one of the world’s most-visited museums which will enthuse children and adults alike to learn more about art.

Out 5th October. £14.99, HB.

 

Dual Language Readers: The Ugly Duckling

Easy to read dual Language re-tellings of classic fairy tales, accompanied by beautiful colour artwork. Available in French and Spanish, this series is ideal for introducing modern languages to young readers and for EAL teaching.

£8.99, HB.

 

Wundrous new middle-grade fiction, and an exciting visual science series

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor – the most fantastical children’s debut of the year. Nevermoor is a breathtakingly imaginative new world with an inspirational, strong heroine who children will love getting to know. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter and His Dark Materials, this new series will set hope and imagination alive.

Out 12th October. £12.99, HB.

 

The Girl With the Lost Smile

This is the first children’s book by national treasure Miranda Hart. With fabulous illustrations by Kate Hindley, The Girl With the Lost Smile takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make 9-11 year olds smile.

Out 12th October. £12.99, HB.

 

Science in Infographics: Forces

This exciting form of data visualisation uses icons, pictograms and graphics to present information in a whole new way. Ideal for children of 9+, this series is a fun approach to science, leaving behind long lists of facts and presenting information in a relevant and easy-to-understand way.

Out 12th October. £12.99, HB.

 

October brings touching accounts of the refugee crisis, and some Big Questions about gender

What is Gender? How Does it Define Us? And Other Big Questions

A highly topical look at the concept of gender, encouraging children to think for themselves about the difference between sex and gender, what gender means and what it means to be defined by it. Aimed at upper KS2 and above, this book is an ideal starting point for classroom discussion. Part of the Big Questions series.

Out 12th October. £13.99, HB.

 

Illegal

A powerful and timely story about one boy’s epic journey across Africa to Europe, Illegal is a graphic novel with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children’s Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.

Out 5th October. £14.99, HB.

 

Far From Home

A sensitive and accessible account of the refugee crisis being faced by millions around the world, with first-hand accounts and historical sources. Far From Home is an open and balanced tool for opening discussions about racism, religion, life in refugee camps and the challenges refugees and migrants face in their attempts to reach a safe haven in a new land.

Out 26th October. £13.99, HB.